Minutes for the Commission on the May 31, 2019, Virginia Beach Mass Shooting Meeting on September 9, 2021, at 2 p.m. and 5:30 p.m. in Virginia beach Training Academy, Virginia Beach, VA

The meeting started at 2 p.m.

Commission members in attendance:

Butch Bracknell Steve Cover James Thomas Aaron Kass Robert Geis James Redick Rebecca Cowan David Cariens Jaison Harris David Whitted Bob Archer Rich Diviney Frank Counselman Kris Chester

OSIG staff in attendance:

Michael Westfall Corrine Louden Kate Hourin Katrina Goodman

Media in attendance:

WAVY, Associated Press, WTKR-Channel 3, WVEC-Channel 13

Commission members adopted the meeting minutes from June 9 and August 4, 2021.

Randy Campbell, Active Attack Training Specialist, Virginia Center for School and Campus Safety, Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services, gave a presentation on how all stakeholders in an incident should know how to try to save a life; called it the whole community approach.

Commission members discussed how to receive information from external sources.

Commission members accepted the 531 Letter as a form of evidence after a discussion about its contents.

On a motion made by Butch Bracknell and seconded by David Cariens, Commission members adopted a resolution that members not conduct interviews individually, and that information received by individual members be shared immediately with the entire Commission.

On a motion made by Bob Geis and seconded by Jaison Harris, Commission members approved a resolution stating that members may passively accept information from external sources, but not actively seek it.

Commission member Aaron Kass moved that the Commission establish a request for information process and send those requests to the Virginia Beach City Attorney (see attached questions). Butch Bracknell seconded the motion, and the motion carried.

With the Commission's interim report due to the General Assembly by November 1, 2021, Butch Bracknell volunteered to lead the writing team.

Kate Hourin gave a brief summary about travel reimbursements.

The meeting recessed for dinner at 4:15 p.m.

The meeting reconvened at 5:30 p.m. for a public comment session.

Seven people spoke publicly: Jason Nixon Debbie Borato Beth Mann Joseph Samaha Barb Messner Al Brewster Brock Beckstedt

The meeting adjourned at 7:15 p.m.