MINUTES Virginia Port Authority Board of Commissioners Executive Committee Meeting September 27, 2021

The Virginia Port Authority ("VPA") Executive Committee ("Committee") held a meeting on September 27, 2021 in the VPA Boardroom, 600 World Trade Center, 101 West Main Street, Norfolk, VA.

Executive Committee Members Present:

John G. Milliken, VPA Board Chairman Faith B. Power, VPA Board Vice Chair Val S. McWhorter Louisa M. Strayhorn Deborah C. Waters

Board Members Present: Eva Teig Hardy Maurice A. Jones Aubrey L. Layne Edward F. O'Callaghan

<u>VPA Staff Present:</u> Stephen A. Edwards, CEO and Executive Director Ryanne A. Shields, Secretary to the Board

<u>Guests:</u> Hon. Shannon Valentine, Secretary of Transportation (by phone) W. Brice Fiske, Office of the Attorney General

Chairman Milliken called the meeting to order at 5:38pm.

Motion for Closed Session

At 5:38pm, Chairman Milliken asked for a motion to go into closed session. The motion was read by Commissioner Power as follows:

"I move that the VPA Board's Executive Committee convene a closed meeting in accordance with The Virginia Freedom of Information Act, pursuant to the requirements of §2.2-3711(A)(1), the personnel exemption, to discuss personnel matters relating to assignment and performance."

The motion was seconded by Commissioner Strayhorn and passed by a vote of the Executive Committee Members as follows:

Ayes: 5 (Milliken, Power, McWhorter, Strayhorn, Waters) Nays: 0 Absent During Vote: 0 Absent During meeting: 0

End of Closed Session

At 6:30pm, the Executive Committee came out of closed session and the following resolution was read by Commissioner Power:

"Whereas, the Executive Committee has convened a closed meeting on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of The Virginia Freedom of Information Act;

Whereas, §2.2-3712 of the Code of Virginia requires a certification that such closed meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

Now, therefore be it resolved, that the Committee certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under this chapter were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed meeting was convened were heard, discussed or considered by the Committee."

The resolution was seconded by Commissioner McWhorter and passed by a vote of the Executive Committee Members as follows:

Ayes: 5 (Milliken, Power, McWhorter, Strayhorn, Waters) Nays: 0 Absent During Vote: 0 Absent During meeting: 0

There were no members of the public present for comment and the meeting adjourned at 4:42 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Ryanne A. Shields Secretary to the Board